top of page

Smart Knitting Needles 2.0


For this final project I would like to take my knitting needles one step forward to become an actual product.

I want my smart knitting needles to be independent and not have wires hanging on it and connected to the Arduino.


I started by understanding how I should build these needles. I think the best option for it to be aesthetically is to create a kind of puzzle to those needles.

I would use the same iron bar I used before it might be that I need a bigger radius. And I will cut it in the middle.

I also need the iron to be shallow, which I think will help me to make the needles weightless.




The needles will have two parts that are connected in the middle, which can give me a direct link to the electronic components on the inside.


I am still not very sure what circuit I will have inside and which switch or sensor to use that could turn on from the outside layer of the needles.




First attempt of a circuit:




I realize I need to have a small hole in the edge of the needle for charging the battery.





I also need to think about the connection between the needles to the system, it could be through Bluetooth.



Connected to where? In order for it to be a product I will need some sort of an application, I would like to create an app that will define between Instructors and students The P5 language is JavaScrips, so could I use this sketch I made and apply it to my app?










14 views0 comments
bottom of page