top of page

SKN2.0 Process-Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts

This week I had a lot of failures. First, I figure out I need to find a way to create my needles dynamic. The whole point about two knitting needles is that the fabric moves from one to another.


I realize that in the first version of the needles only one needle is the front and back point and the other one is ground. Last time, I created big loops so I could switch and move my eyes to the input needle. So, finding a system that will have the same two needles with front and back and teo ground points is possible but it's not smart or effective.


I came up with this circuit, I am using the voltage to control the amount of current that goes to each point.



A1 - PULLUP - 3.3

A2 - PULLUP - 1.8


I do need to use the power regulator to lower the voltage to 1.8V.


Now, my main problem was the aesthetic form I wanted for this project. After visiting my dad's workshop I understood that I need a much bigger radius for my needles and the biggest my dad has was 12 - and that is not enough.




I found a metal factory and I searched over there to see what size of iron bar could contain all of the electronic components I have. Unfortunately, the only size that could fit is more than 20 that is very not effective for knitting needles. No one is really using these numbers; the bigger it goes is 15 and even that not very common.



My biggest purpose for this project was and still is to find something that will be useful, effective and easy to use. So my motto for this week was: even Rome wasn't built in a day.

I am still on the progress but I am thinking about creating some sort of a pucket to needle and then use the bluetooth to connect to the P5 from my iPad.




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page