top of page

Hello, Computer - Class 1

Reading “The Difference '' this week, I was so confused I was led by the belief that Andrew is a real person at first, all his range of emotion I felt that too. I wasn't sure if some of the spelling mistakes is trases for us to realize who is the real person and who is the bot.

Either way, when thinking about it, what if Andrew is really trapped and the computer can't seem to understand that he needs help? I remembered a story that happened in my country. One guy (a real person) called to seek help while he was kidnapped but the voice software behind the phone didn't catch that. He called the police afterwards and a real person answered him but couldn't understand him either. The one question that I remain with after reading this is AI actually starting to understand our language — or is it just getting better at gaming our systems?


Who are the voices? Listening to the Helpful Mom Voices podcast I suddenly realized that there are actually real people behind the voices, in my mind it is a computer voice and it's just weird to put a face or to give a life to Siri for example. It took me to Waze, one of the first apps that used different voices to give me the instructions. I remember that when I was in the army I used an army officer voice and then a male voice, perhaps in each state of my life I used voices that I can rely on. Is a female voice better? Maybe it is easier to trust on.. If that's the case i'm wondering what’s the ingredient list for a good voice recognition?


For the first assignment of voice recognition I went pretty simple, I used the example we did in class and also Shiffman's video from the coding train. I use p5 although I downloaded visual studio code but I haven't completely understood it. It was easier for me to reach out to p5. I tried to be funny with it in the same spirit we had in class, the speech recognition works for every language.


LOVE ME LOVE ME SAY THAT YOU LOVE ME








18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page